top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureElizabeth

A KEY TO THE KINGDOM: Thankfulness during affliction


As Christians, during the season of Thanksgiving, we often quote Psalms:


"Enter into his gates with THANKSGIVING, and into his courts with praise: be thankful unto him, and bless his name.
For the LORD is good; his mercy is everlasting; and his truth endureth to all generations." Psalms 100:4-5

However, I wanted to share a different aspect of THANKSGIVING that is not often talked about, but has become part of my personal journey with the LORD in the last few years. I like to call it one of the 'KEYS TO THE KINGDOM' that helps us with our walk with our LORD JESUS.


As a watchwomen on the wall, I have experienced many trials, tribulations and attacks from the enemy. I have experienced many sleepless nights, crying on the LORD for HIS help and deliverance. Sometimes answers come quickly, but not always.....sometimes it can be a long wait until till I see the fulfillment of my prayers.


Then, a few years ago, I heard in my spirit to stop moaning, groaning and complaining to the LORD, during the times of my trials.....but instead to start THANKING HIM.....even in the midst of the AFFLICTIONS that I was going through. At first, this is not an easy thing to do, because it is way easier to be focused on the 'affliction' itself. However, the more I started to be more THANKFUL, and GRATEFUL, I started seeing some changes in my life!


Now I try to always FOCUS more on being THANKFUL, instead of concentrating on praying for my 'relief' or 'petitions.' First I start with being thankful for all the physical provisions that HE has provided, as well as all the loved ones in my life, and the opportunities and doors that HE has opened. I then start REMEMBERING, and thanking HIM for the times in my life where HE has helped and rescued me.


After praying for the physicals things that I have received from HIS hand, I then start thanking the LORD for SPIRITUAL THINGS that I have received as a believer in CHRIST JESUS....such as:


  • the blood of JESUS that was shed on my behalf for my sins

  • JESUS's sacrifice on the cross

  • HIS salvation

  • HIS righteousness that is now imparted to me

  • the WORD, which is my sword

  • my FAITH, which is my shield

  • the HOLY SPIRIT of truth, which is my comfort and guide

  • The LORD's faithfulness, kindness, longsuffering, patience, and mercy towards me


In a few verses in the Bible, it talks about offering up SACRIFICES OF THANKSGIVING....which is something we can do, especially when going through difficult times. With holy hands lifted up to the LORD, we can offer our praises to HIM, with a thankful heart.


When we do this, the PEACE OF GOD comes, and takes away our anxieties, stresses and worries. It is a BEAUTIFUL THING thing when we offer up our thanksgiving to HIM, and then in return, the LORD gives us HIS LOVE and PEACE!


"Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; 7 and the PEACE OF GOD, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus." Philippians 4:7


Lastly, we can ALWAYS KNOW the WILL OF GOD for our lives, because it is stated in 1 Thessalonians 5:18. HIS will for us to to GIVE THANKS IN EVERY LITTLE THING:


"In EVERY THING GIVE THANK for this is the WILL OF GOD in Christ Jesus concerning you."

HIS will for us to be a THANKFUL PEOPLE, no matter what is happening in our lives or around us!


Lets remember not only to be THANKFUL during this time of Thanksgiving, but to use this KEY TO KINGDOM and offer up SACRIFICES OF THANKSGIVING at all times, and in all circumstances!







[picture credit: pixabay.com]

928 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page