top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureElizabeth

my fellow athletes!

Updated: Apr 27, 2019




Tonight I was watching the Olympics and don't want to miss anything! I love to see the dedication of these mostly young people and how talented, skilled, determined and dedicated that they are!


My favorite event is the figure skating! When I was young, I figure skated and always dreamed of what it would be like to be in the Olympics! I remember all the skating lessons, the spins that I attempted, and the falls that I took! However, time moved on, and my passions eventually went elsewhere.


After I turned the TV off, and went into the kitchen to do dishes, a thought came to me about how much work, time and effort goes into making an Olympic-worthy competitor. Six, Eight or sometimes even 12 hours a day of training,--- all so they can reach their goal---to go to the Olympics---.and maybe even win a medal!


My thoughts then turned to the LORD and the new ministry that HE has called me to. Do I have the same drive, love and devotion to the LORD that these young people have to their sport? Do I spend the same time doing my job for HIM? Do I put in as much effort? Am I as passionate and in love with serving the one TRUE GOD? Wow! I was troubled and humbled as I compared myself to these true athletes!


Then, I remembered what the Scriptures say about the RACE that we, as believers are in. We are also athletes----spiritual athletes! We are running for the prize of eternity with the LORD! The stakes are SO MUCH HIGHER than ever competing for a medal. Our prize will consist of rewards that will last forever and ever! How easy it is to lose this perspective and focus!


"Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize.


Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last, but we do it to get a crown that will last forever."

1 Corinthians 9:24-25


It is a sobering thought that we will all be judged by our works---NOT for salvation, but for our 'rewards.' What we do here on earth determines our spot in heaven for always! Our works will either be like shining treasures which make it through the refining fires, or stubble and hay that burn up completely. [1]


We are called to serve HIM both day and night; in and out of season; when we want to, and when we don't; during the trials and during the blessings. In all that we do, whether it be the most menial job.....or the highest calling, we do it as best as we can, knowing that it is the LORD JESUS that we are serving! [2]


We must be careful not to become 'disqualified' while running our race! The enticements of the world, the snares of the enemy, temptations, and our fleshly ways all come and try to 'trip' us up so that we fall. [3]


However, we serve such a merciful LORD, that if we 'fall,' HE will pick us up, bind up our wounds, and put us back on the narrow path that we strayed away from. HE is the GOOD SHEPHERD! [4]


Brothers and sisters, let us run for the prize set before us! Put on the 'shoes of the gospel of peace' and start your training! You have the best coaches ever --JESUS, the HOLY SPIRIT and the WORD OF GOD! You will NOT lose the race, but will become overcomers if you listen to their instructions and follow their advice.


One day, you will be able to say the same words as Paul, the apostle:


I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. 2 Timothy 2:4





FOOTNOTE SCRIPTURES:


[1] "Now if anyone builds on this foundation with gold, silver, precious stones, wood, hay, straw, each one’s work will become clear; for the Day will declare it, because it will be revealed by fire; and the fire will test each one’s work, of what sort it is. If anyone’s work which he has built on it endures, he will receive a reward. If anyone’s work is burned, he will suffer loss; but he himself will be saved, yet so as through fire"


[2] "Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving." Colossians 3:23-24


[3]"No, I strike a blow to my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize." 1 Corinthians 9:27


[4] "If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness ."1 John 1:9







1 Corinthians 3:12-15

61 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page