top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureElizabeth

sermon on the mount




This is a follow-up from my previous blog on Matthew 6:33. While studying that verse and chapter, I remembered that it was part of the Sermon on the Mount. This was JESUS's greatest and longest sermon. It starts in Matthew 5 and ends in Matthew 7.


JESUS gave this sermon early in HIS ministry. Word had gotten out that HE healed the sick, and in chapter 4 it says that HIS fame reached Syria, Galilee, Decapolis, Jerusalem, Judea, and beyond Jordan. When JESUS saw the 'multitudes,' HE took the opportunity to minister and teach them.


HE went up the mountain and started teaching the crowd. My favorite teaching in this sermon is the Beatitudes (Matthew 5:3-10):


**Blessed are the poor in spirit,

​​For theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

** ​​Blessed are those who mourn,

​​For they shall be comforted.

** ​​Blessed are the meek,

​​For they shall inherit the earth.

** ​​Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness,

​​For they shall be filled.

** ​​Blessed are the merciful,

​​For they shall obtain mercy.

** ​​Blessed are the pure in heart,

​​For they shall see God.

** ​​Blessed are the peacemakers,

​​For they shall be called sons of God.

** ​​Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake,

​​For theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

​** “Blessed are you when they revile and persecute you, and say all kinds of evil against you falsely for My sake. Rejoice and be exceedingly glad, for great is your reward in heaven, for so they persecuted the prophets who were before you.


Below is the Sermon on the Mount subjects with the verses and chapters..

When you get the time go and re-read the WORDS of OUR LORD AND KING --- you will be blessed!!!


Matthew 5:3-12 - The Beatitudes Matthew 5:13-16 - Salt and Light Matthew 5:17-20 - Jesus fulfilled the Law Matthew 5:21-26 - Anger and Murder Matthew 5:27-30 - Lust and Adultery Matthew 5:31-32 - Divorce and Remarriage Matthew 5:33-37 - Oaths Matthew 5:38-42 - Eye for an Eye Matthew 5:43-48 - Love your enemies Matthew 6:1-4 - Give to the Needy Matthew 6:5-15 - How to Pray Matthew 6:16-18 - How to Fast Matthew 6:19-24 - Treasures in Heaven Matthew 6:25-34 - Do not worry Matthew 7:1-6 - Do not judge hypocritically Matthew 7:7-12 - Ask, Seek, Knock Matthew 7:13-14 - The Narrow Gate Matthew 7:15-23 - False Prophets Matthew 7:24-27 - The Wise Builder


https://www.gotquestions.org/sermon-on-the-mount.html

58 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Arielle
Arielle
Feb 09, 2018

Wow! What a great study guide, thank you! Very early in my walk with the Lord, one of the first times I clearly heard HIS voice was a semi-quote from the Beatitudes. Correction; recognized HIS voice as I just didn't realize HE had ALWAYS been speaking to me. I was walking along a beautiful hiking trail with my current boyfriend/lover and HE said to me, "The meek shall inherit the Earth." I was blown away as I finally realized that I needed to get right with HIM and leave my terrible sinful life behind. When I think back now I cringe, but HE was so patient and loving as HE gently but firmly brought me BACK! I love HIM so…

Like
bottom of page